FAQ

How do I buy a firearm over the Internet?

GoingQuiet.com will process your order and ship your firearm to a Federally Licensed Firearm Dealer, Manufacturer or Pawnbroker (FFL). From there, the local FFL will handle the background check and any compliance with state/local laws regarding the sale of firearms.

Please make sure you have an FFL ready to receive your firearm before you order and have them send a copy of their license via email to sales@goingquiet.com – once we receive their paperwork your item can usually ship the same day. Transfer fees typically range from $10-100 so it pays to shop around.

SALES TO STATES WITH MAGAZINE CAPACITY RESTRICTIONS:

We will gladly serve any customers from California, New York, New Jersey, Massachusetts, and any other state with state specific firearm restrictions and ship any firearm legal for sale in your state.

California Residents – Please make sure that your FFL sends their CFLC number with their license.

Any magazines that are not legal in your state will be exchanged for compliant magazines on a best effort basis. If there are no compliant magazines available at time of shipment, your firearm will ship with NO MAGAZINES.

GoingQuiet.com will typically only ship firearms to an FFL and will only ship a firearm to you directly under certain limited circumstances.

If you are a retail customer in the Brevard County, FL area please email to make an appointment to pick up your firearm. Federal law restricts sales to business premises or qualifying events like a gun show.

Who can own a firearm?

State and Federal law restrict certain persons from purchasing or owning a firearm. Examples of the following prohibitions include but are not limited to:

  1. Persons convicted of a felony
  2. Persons under indictment of a felony
  3. Fugitives from Justice
  4. Unlawful drug users
  5. Persons adjudicated mentally defective
  6. Persons dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces
  7. Persons under a restraining order for domestic issues
  8. Persons convicted of a domestic violence crime

Any Florida resident or lawful permanent resident may purchase a firearm so long as they are not prohibited under State and Federal law to own one.

Does Florida have a firearm registration?

The State of Florida has NO FIREARM REGISTRATION. There has NEVER been any firearm registration in the State of Florida. No plan exists for the State to add a firearm registry and there are no bills proposing one pending in the state legislature as of October 2010. Any information suggested to you about the state requiring firearm registration is incorrect and should be disregarded.

Any information acquired about a “State Firearm Registration” does NOT apply to Florida and is typically pertinent to other states like California, New York and New Jersey.

How old do I have to be to purchase a firearm?

Federal law dictates minimum age of 18 for shotguns and rifles, 21 for handguns from an FFL.

Although federal law regulates the minimum age for firearm retailers, Florida state laws regulate possession, private sales and ownership. A common misconception is that one must be 21 years old to own a Handgun and 18 years old for all other types of firearms. This information is INCORRECT. The private sale of a handgun to someone who is 18 and not legally disqualified is legal.

In the State of Florida, any firearm may be transferred to a minor that is not prohibited by State and Federal law to own a firearm WITH APPROVAL FROM A PARENT OR GUARDIAN AND THE PARENT OR GUARDIAN MAINTAING POSESSION. Persons that are above the age of 18 who are not prohibited by State and Federal law to own a firearm may purchase and own any pistol, shotgun or rifle.

How do I transport a firearm?

If you need to transport a firearm, DO NOT OPENLY place a firearm without a case/container in your vehicle. State law dictates that a firearm is legal for transportation if the firearm is “Not Readily Accessible” OR “Securely Encased”. If a case or container designed for firearm transportation is available, please use it! This makes the firearm legal as it is “Securely Encased” and you can place it anywhere in the vehicle.

Urban legend has led to a misconception called a “three step law” regarding firearm transportation. No such law exists. Any information suggested to you on the subject is incorrect and should be disregarded.

How do I ship a firearm?

Firearms may be sent to dealers, importers or manufacturers via common carriers such as UPS and FedEx.

In the event a firearm requires delivery to an individual outside of Florida, federal law dictates that the firearm be shipped to a federally licensed dealer, importer, or manufacturer. According to UPS/FedEx policy all handguns must ship overnight and all other firearms may ship via ground services.

UPS/FedEx policy indicates that firearms are accepted for shipment from individuals. This may be news to whoever is working there. Before shipping a firearm, visit the company website and print out any applicable firearm transportation guidelines. Even with their printed policy, do not be surprised to encounter some difficulty.

As of August 2012 – there is NO FEDERAL LAW REQUIRING YOU TO USE A DEALER TO SHIP A FIREARM. Any information suggesting such is incorrect and should be disregarded. However, some FFL’s choose to only accept firearms from other FFL’s as policy or to comply with their state’s firearm laws.

GoingQuiet.com offers firearm packing and shipping services to accommodate such requests from receiving dealers.

How do I purchase a machinegun, silencer, short barrel rifle or shotgun?

Contrary to popular belief, Machineguns, Silencers, Short Barrel Shotguns and Rifles are legal under a federal law called the National Firearms Act of 1934, or the NFA for short. The NFA regulates sale, manufacturing and transfers of all Machineguns, Silencers, and Short Barrel Shotguns and Rifles. Firearm dealers may mention a “special federal license” or “Class 3 License” to own NFA regulated items. No such licenses exist. Any information suggested to you on the subject is incorrect and should be disregarded.

Federal law requires that a $200 transfer tax be levied on all transactions in this category of firearms. The State of Florida does not require any special license for NFA items, however some states have unique licensing requirements and some states expressly prohibit ownership of NFA items.

GoingQuiet.com only sells NFA items to states where they are legal. If you make an internet purchase from GoingQuiet.com for an item that is not legal in your state – IT WILL NOT BE SHIPPED and will be subject to restocking fees.

Purchase Process – Individual Ownership

  1. Ask your wife if you can buy it. If approved, locate the item you want either from GoingQuiet.com or from another dealer who will have the item transferred to GoingQuiet.com.
  2. Specific to the item – ATF Form 4′s will be prepared in duplicate and signed by the buyer.
  3. For individual transfers a 922G Certificate of Compliance is submitted.
  4. You must get approval from the Chief Law Enforcement Officer of your area. This can be a city police chief, county sheriff, county/circuit judge/state prosecutor that has jurisdiction over your area of residence, a US Attorney or federal judge that has jurisdiction over your area of residence, etc. No official can be compelled to sign your form, if you are unable to get approval in your area you may wish to create a trust or a corporation which bypasses this requirement.
  5. Two ATF – NFA Branch Fingerprint cards are required. They can only process ink cards. NO ELECTRONIC FINGERPRINT SUBMISSIONS WILL BE ACCEPTED.
  6. Two passport sized photos will be attached to the forms.
  7. A $200 check made out to BATFE is attached to the forms.
  8. Package is sent to BATFE for processing. As of December 2010, current processing time is at 90-120 days.
  9. Upon approval, ATF NFA Branch will return one original Form 4 with a cancelled NFA Tax Stamp.
  10. Buyer picks up item.

Purchase Process – Trust/Corporate Ownership

  1. Ask your wife if you can buy it. If approved, locate the item you want either from GoingQuiet.com or from another dealer who will have the item transferred to GoingQuiet.com
  2. Specific to the item – ATF Form 4′s will be prepared in duplicate and signed by a trustee or corporate officer.
  3. A complete copy of your trust or articles of incorporation is required to be submitted with your Form 4′s.
  4. A $200 check made out to BATFE is attached to the forms.
  5. Package is sent to BATFE for processing. As of December 2010, current processing time is at 90-120 days.
  6. Upon approval, ATF NFA Branch will return one original Form 4 with a cancelled NFA Tax Stamp.
  7. Buyer picks up item.

Please bear in mind that GoingQuiet.com is in the business of selling firearms – not legal advice. Any questions related to the formation of trusts or corporations should be directed towards a member of the Florida Bar. We highly recommend the following attorneys for their expertise in NFA Trusts in no particular order:

Ernest Myers
Marcus & Myers, P.A.
1515 Park Center Dr Ste 2G
Orlando, Florida 32835
Phone: 407-447-2550 x304

Bob J Howell
8551 W Sunrise Blvd Ste 207
Plantation, Florida 33322
Phone: 954-424-8889

How do I handle a firearm or firearms that I have inherited?

Please see GoingQuiet.com’s Inherited Firearm FAQ